Brouwerij Alvinne

I’m starting a series on one of my favorite things, small breweries. I won’t say Nano, or Pico, or any of that bullshit, just small. I’ll be posting maybe a sentence or two on why I find each particularly interesting, and other than that it will simply be images and links. Why are small breweries so interesting? Well, several reasons…

1) They are the closest thing to my love; homebrewing
2) They are often put together on a bit of a shoestring, so involve quirky equipment, or original contraptions to solve problems that big breweries usually just wave $100k at
3) Probably, most importantly, they make some of the most interesting beers in the world

I thought It only fitting to kick off with one of my favorites, Brouwerij Alvinne. This is actually the expanded version of Alvinne, when I find some older more “rustic” version, I’ll post that as well, but as these guys have seen some very well deserved success, their brewery is looking much sparklier of late. Alvinne as a subject of curiosity, is very interesting to me… such a small brewery, making such weird beers, in painfully small batches, how on earth they have achieved this status, and actually manage to have stateside distro is baffling. It’s probably because the beer is exceptional.

Photos from the fabulous Brouwerijen in België

Alvinne fermenters

Alvinne fermenters


Such a tight setup. Just looks like a comfortable place to brew. I’d love to go to work there every day.

Alvinne brew system

Alvinne brew system

Alvinne bottler

Alvinne bottler


This kind of blew my mind… either this stuff is way cheaper in Belgium, they happened to be renting this at the time of the photo for a big bottling run, or they are doing quite well. Having a bottler is an amazing (and expensive) luxury for a small brewery.

Alvinne foudre

Alvinne foudre


Man I love these things. Some day, some day…

Alvinne barrels

Alvinne barrels


The thing that struck me when I first saw this was how few barrels they actually have. I feel quite spoiled for the amount of times I’ve had their barrel aged beers. Philly much be getting a big portion of them.

Hope you enjoyed this small brewery drool session, many more to come. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

